Yoga for Peace & Happiness

This BLOG compiles the Essence of Yoga as explained by Sri M. Its a refresher on the rules of being a good human being and embarking on the journey to happiness and peace. For a detailed explanation get hold of the newly launched book by Sri M “Yoga also for the Godless“, A sutra by sutra exposition of the pithy aphorisms of Patanjali’s Yoga Sutra.

For those interested in following the path set by Patanjali in Yoga Sutras, Sri M has explained all the 8 limbs of Yoga beautifully. Simple and clear – this is one of the finest explanations of Patanjali’s Yoga Sutra’s. Each sessions is about 30 Minutes long. For anybody wanting to understand the true meaning of Yoga and how to progress on this journey these crisp Videos will be invaluable.

Ashtanga Yoga is a well documented step by step process to progress on the path to Kaivalya or Nirvikalpa Samadhi – A state where you are one with the Eternal Truth or Brahman. Yoga is a science that helps you to establish “Chitta Vritti Nirodhah”, which means  to control or quieten the fluctuations/ waves  of the mind.

The Yoga Sutras comprise of 4 sections. The 1st part Samadhi Pada defines the Aim or Goal – which is Samadhi. The second section Sadhna Pada talks about the HOW. The 3rd Section Vibhuti Pada talks about expansion of Consciousness and the last part Kaivalya talks of the Results.

The Yamas & Niyamas.  These are the Rules & Observances that help you change your lifestyle, attitude and belief system. This is the starting point for everlasting peace and happiness that is elusive. Sri M has explained them beautifully in the talk below. Please listen to it and internalise the essence of these foundation building blocks.  

Asanas – For a healthy body & mind. As Sri M says, Asana is not about twisting your body and experiencing pain. The term ” sthira sukham asana” means a posture in which you can sit for long in “sukha” without fidgeting , without pain, comfortably.

Prana is the Life Energy Force. Pranayama is the rules & regulations regarding Prana. Remember Prana is not just breath – but includes all the life forces like digestion , excretion etc. The connect with all these forces is through breath “shwasa” hence Pranayama is commonly perceived as a breathing exercise.  Pranayama helps you to focus your attention inwards.

Pratyahara means selective sense engagement. It is not sense withdrawal.

Dharana is the capacity to hold your mind together and get it into an expansive state. Dharana comes in the 1st part of the Vibhuti Pada of the Yoga Sutras. The word Vibhuti mean Expansion.

The transition from Dharana to Dhyana is done by very few. Extension or lengthening of the intention of Dharana leads to Dhyana. When you have perfected Dharana and the mind is in a settled state for long it leads to Dhyana.

Kaivalya or Freedom is the result of the Samadhi. This is the state when the mind is absolutely still with no fluctuations. There is only the Purusha. This is the state when the Goal of Yoga has been attained – Chitta Vritti Nirodhah.

Spread A Few Good Things

One comment on “Yoga for Peace & Happiness

  • Rajesh Marwaha , Direct link to comment

    Great connection of weakness of lying to weak and impure mind and how to use Yoga to cure this defect. We have gone beyond lying to others. Today we lie to ourselves too about how sick our mind has become and our need to cure ourselves. Very well conceived, researched and written article.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: