A few Good Places ….

I enjoy travelling – and a lot of people keep asking me on good places to go to. I have compiled a list of these places and will keep adding to this as and when I spot something unique.

Talayar-Valley-Bungalow

Places I have visited in the last few years

  • Baevu Village Bangalore – https://vak1969.com/tag/baevu-village/
  • Mary Budden Estate Binsar – https://vak1969.com/2016/11/25/kumaon-nov-2016-part-1-mary-budden-binsar/
  • Dunagiri Retreat – https://vak1969.com/2016/11/26/kumaon-nov-2016-part-2-mystical-dunagiri-full-of-energy/
  • Shreyas Bangalore – easiest to go – 1 hr from Bangalore Airport ( http://vak1969.com/2015/07/02/shreyas-retreat-bangalores-best-kept-secret/)
  • Taj Coorg – https://vak1969.com/2016/10/12/taj-coorg-madikeri-embedded-in-nature/
  • Soulitude by the Riverside – Near Kathgodam http://www.soulitude.in/rustic-soulitude-river/
  • Soulitude in Himalayas – http://vak1969.com/2014/12/29/himalayan-soulitude-in-december/
  • Ananda Spa Rishikesh – http://vak1969.com/2014/07/20/anandam-at-ananda/
  • Flameback – Chickamagalur http://vak1969.com/2014/02/10/flameback-lodges-a-lovely-getaway-in-mudigere-chickamagalur/
  • Primrose Villa – Chickamagalur http://vak1969.com/2015/09/28/primrose-villa-luxury-homestay-in-chickamagalur/
  • Orange County Coorg – http://vak1969.com/2014/05/27/orange-county-coorg/
  • Tamara Coorg – Coorg http://vak1969.com/2015/05/18/tamara-coorg-a-critical-appreciation/
  • Niramaya Beach Resort http://vak1969.com/2015/10/20/niraamaya-resorts-a-hidden-jewel-in-kovalam-near-trivandrum/
  • Amber Vermont Estate Mussoorie – The Amber Vermont Estate (Visited in Dec – Good property , poor service, Not recommended)
  • Rainforest House Rishikesh (Small but homely guesthouse, Good food , basic infrastructure)
  • Destiny Farms – Ooty / Avalanche http://vak1969.com/tag/destiny-farms/
  • Elephant valley – Kodai, http://vak1969.com/2012/12/30/elephant-valley-kodai/
  • Dunes , Pondicherry – http://vak1969.com/2012/10/25/2nd-leg-pondicherry-the-amazing-dunes-resort/
  • Wild Woods – Near Udupi – http://vak1969.com/tag/wild-woods-spa/
  • Park Hyatt Goa – http://vak1969.com/2012/11/16/goa-the-park-hyatt-lush-green-luxury/
  • Vythri Wayanad – http://www.vythiriresort.com/wayanad.html
  • Windflower Hall – Mashobra
  • Neeleshwar Hermitage – http://www.neeleshwarhermitage.com, Kasargod

16

 

Others in my list

North 

  • http://www.itmenaanlodges.com ( Binsar , Nainital, Amritsar)
  • Vana retreat – Like Ananda , Adults only (Vana Retreats | Wellness | Wellbeing)
  • Shinura Retreat – Dehradun (http://shinuraretreat.com/web/)
  • Vishranti Resorts (Vishranti Resorts and Spa in Dehradun | Luxury Farm Stay)
  • Leti 360 – Kumaon (Outstanding)
  • Aman I Khas – Ranathambore
  • Tree House Resort Jaipur
  • Te Aroha – Dhanachuli
  • Amritara Group – http://www.amritara.co.in/raga-on-the-ganges-rishikesh/reaching-the-location/
  • JW Walnut Grove Mussoorie – http://www.marriott.com/hotels/travel/dedjw-jw-marriott-mussoorie-walnut-grove-resort-and-spa/
  • Oberoi Vanavilas Ranathambore
  • Samode Safari Lodge, Bandhavgarh National Park
  • The Serai, Near Jaisalmer
  • Neeralaya Raison Near Kullu – http://www.neeralaya.com
  • Kumaon Village Walks
  • Mystic Mukteshwar Lodge – http://www.mysticmukteshwar.co.in
  • Glasshouse by the Ganges – Rishikesh
  • Amar Vilas – Agra
  • Moksha Himalayan Spa Resort – http://www.mokshaspa.com
  • The Terraces Kanatal (http://www.theterraces.biz)
  • Tree of Life – Jaipur http://queenofretreats.com/tree-of-life-review-india/ ( Spa)

6

 

East 

  • Sikkim Village Walks
  • Glenburn Tea Estate Darjeeling
  • Mayfair Palm Beach – Bhubaneswar

1

West & Central 

  • https://www.pugdundeesafaris.com – Luxury Forest Resorts
  • Machan – Lonawala
  • Hidden Village – Shahpur
  • Ahilya Fort – MP
  • Nilaya Hermitage – Goa
  • Swaswara Gokarna (Outstanding – Minimum 5 days)
  • https://www.tajhotels.com/en-in/taj-safaris/ – Wild Life safari , Luxury

 

Unknown-1

South

  • http://www.javarainresorts.com – Chickamagalur, Opened recently
  • Wild Planet Jungle Resort http://wildplanetresort.com/index.php/how-to-reach/
  • Orange County – Kabini
  • Kumarakom lake resort – http://www.kumarakomlakeresort.in
  • Spice Tree Resorts – Munnar http://spicetreemunnar.com
  • Briar Tea Bungalows – http://teabungalows.com/talayar-valley-bungalow-munnar/
  • Niraamaya – Cardamom Club, Thekkady, http://www.niraamaya.in/thekkady.html
  • Malabar House – Fort Kochi
  • Niraamaya Retreats Backwaters & Beyond, Kumarakom, http://www.niraamaya.in/Kumarakom.html
  • Yacht @ Goa – http://www.niraamaya.in/foxy-lady.html
  • Aanavilasam , Luxury Plantation House Thekaddy – http://www.aanavilasam.com
  • Paradise Plantation – http://www.paradisaretreat.com
  • Windermere Estate Munnar – http://windermeremunnar.com
  • Turtle Bay Beach Resort – Marvanthe
  • Meriyanda Nature Lodge Coorg – http://www.meriyanda.com
  • Taj Vivanta Coorg – https://vivanta.tajhotels.com/en-in/madikeri-coorg/
  • Fishermans Cove Chennai
  • Kuteera – Log Cottage homestay in Chickamagalur www.kuteera.com
  • Kabini – Red Earth http://www.redearthkabini.in
  • Coorg – Old Kent Estate , www.oldkentestate.com

Independent-Cottages-at-Niraamaya-Ca

 

A few Good websites 

  • https://www.i-escape.com (A good website for offbeat Resorts in India & Abroad)
  • http://linger.in – The company runs 11 off beat resorts
  • http://www.cntraveller.in/story/10-secret-homestays-himalayas/
  • 15 Boutique Himalayan Getaways http://goindia.about.com/od/wheretostay/tp/Himalayan-Village-Getaways.htm
  • 16 Offbeat Hotels in India – http://www.scoopwhoop.com/inothernews/indianoffbeathotels/
  • http://blog.saffronstays.com/2015/02/14/weekend-getaways-from-delhi/
  • Small Resorts & Homestay’s around Nainital – http://www.nivalink.com/hotels-recommend/small-resorts-and-homestays-in-kumaon
  • http://traveltriangle.com/blog/offbeat-places-near-bangalore/
  • http://www.royalmysorewalks.com
Spread A Few Good Things

One comment on “A few Good Places ….

  • Alok Jain , Direct link to comment

    Mystic Mukteshwar Lodge, Mukteshwar near Nainital – Amazing hospitality; great food – made to order

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: